SEJ Awards for Reporting on the Environment


The 2021 SEJ Awards Program

is now closed.

Good luck to all!






Late entry was allowed, with extra fee, until April 1, 2021, 11:59 p.m. ET.
Winners will be announced in July.

2021 FAQs
2021 Rules


SEJ's 20th annual Awards for Reporting on the Environment honors the best environmental journalism in 10 categories, bringing recognition to the stories that are among the most important on the planet. Prizes of $500 for first-place winners and $250 for second-place winners in all categories. Plus...

The Nina Mason Pulliam Award for the "best of the best" environmental reporting will award $10,000 to one entry selected from the first-place winners of SEJ's Awards for Reporting on the Environment. The prize also includes travel, registration and hotel expenses (up to $2,500) for the winner, or representatives of the winning team, to attend SEJ's annual conference and be recognized at the awards presentation ceremony Mar 30-Apr 3, 2022 in Houston.

All SEJ Awards first-place winners are automatically entered into the Nina Mason Pulliam Award. (Read more about the Pulliam Award.)
The Nina Mason Pulliam Award is sponsored by the Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust.


SEJ's 2021 Awards Committee

Rae Tyson, Freelance Journalist and Committee Chair
Emilia Askari, Independent Journalist
Edwin Lake, Freelance Writer
Parimal Rohit, The Log newspaper

Sara Schonhardt, International Climate Reporter, E&E News and SEJ Board Liaison
Chris Bruggers, Awards Director and Staff Liaison

Thank you to our Awards judges and screeners over the years!


Past Award winners:

2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002

​Past Pulliam winners:

2020  |  2019  |  2018