Award Ceremony: AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards

Event Date: 
February 18, 2022

Join ​the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards program at 12:00 p.m. U.S. Eastern time on Friday, Feb. 18, for a ceremony honoring our 2021 award winners. It will be held in conjunction with the virtual 2022 AAAS Annual Meeting, and you must sign in as a meeting registrant. Guests may register for a free Basic Access Passport to attend the award ceremony. We encourage you to register in advance.

The event will be hosted by Laura Helmuth, editor in chief of Scientific American. Sudip Parikh, AAAS CEO and executive publisher of the Science family of journals, will participate, as will Stacey Bailey, director of communications and prizes for The Kavli Foundation, which has endowed the global awards program. There were entries from 47 countries for the 2021 contest, with winners for the first time from Spain, India, Ethiopia, Zambia and Malawi. Six of the award-winning entries featured notable reporting on the COVID-19 pandemic. Others dealt with important issues of equity and ethics in the conduct of science.

Event Details