DEADLINE: Pulitzer Prize Journalism Competition

Event Date: 
October 13, 2023

The Pulitzer Prizes, established in 1917, are awarded annually in journalism, books and other categories.

The recommended entry deadline for books published in the first half of 2023 is Friday, July 14, 2023. The final deadline for all eligible books published in 2023, including those slated for publication in the final quarter of the year, is Friday, October 13, 2023.

Journalism entries must come from a U.S. newspaper, magazine or news site that publishes regularly. In all cases, entries must adhere to the highest journalistic principles. Broadcast media and their websites are ineligible in all categories. Entries that involve collaboration between an eligible organization and ineligible media will be considered if the eligible organization does the preponderance of the work and publishes it at least simultaneously with the ineligible partner.

There are 15 Pulitzer journalism categories in 2023. In 14 of those categories the winners receive a $15,000 cash award and a certificate. Only the winner in the Public Service category of the Journalism competition is awarded a gold medal. The Public Service prize is always awarded to a news organization, not an individual, although an individual may be named in the citation.

Journalism deadline was Jan 25, 2023; 2024 deadline is TBA.

Event Details